2016 Reading Challenge

Over the Christmas holidays I managed to read two books, I haven’t had time to read a good book for a good while. I read daily, don’t get me wrong, but it is often ‘Each Peach Pear Plum’, ‘Fireman Sam’ or ‘Whatever Next’ as these are my two year old’s current favourite books.

The books I read over Christmas were lent to me by a friend, they were easy reading and very typical chick lit cheese. It did the job though and it has made me realise how important it is to make time for me and for my love for reading.

I hope to do this in 2016:image

So the first on my list is a book recommended by a bookseller. (It was actually on the recommended stand in a bookshop-it will do as a first attempt but I will revisit this one by speaking to an actual bookseller if I get through the list.) ‘The Marble Collector” by Cecilia Ahern is my first read.

As work approaches on Monday and an inset day training on writing ideas still to prepare for, I can already see time to read becoming a distant memory. (How many sleeps until to February half term? 😂)

Let me know if you take part in the reading challenge and what you choose to read!

Jo

6 thoughts on “2016 Reading Challenge

  1. Great first blog – I read it after finishing my one read of the holiday – The Santa Klaus Murder a British Library Crime Classic. I experienced the same feeling – no more reading for pleasure until half term! So, I will be joining you on the challenge! I am aiming to read for 5-10 minutes a day…
    I have printed it off for the staffroom too – a staff challenge for 2016! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, A great idea. Will definitely go for it. My wife managed a 50 book challenge in 2015 reading The Eagle in the Snow as a quick read on the last 2 days of the year. Yr challenge is a bit more realistic for me.! Which is the book that intimidates you? Post when u get to it! Wd it count to watch War and Peace and pretend to have read the book?! In school I didn’t read enough to the class so I am determined to read a class book for 10 mins at least 4 afternoons. Am going to read Journey to the River Sea to tie in with a Rainforest topic. An odd choice for me as I like to be modern but I think my class might like it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

